Take a look at what has been accomplished with your support.

View Archbishop Gomez's welcome speech from the 2014 Cardinal's Awards Dinner.

Relive the excitement by viewing these highlights from the night.

Sign up for email updates.


Cheryl is the perfect example of “a woman for others.” A longtime supporter of Loyola High School, Las Madrinas, Sisters of Social Service, and the Los Angeles Public Library. Cheryl is mother to three sons and the foundation of their family. They are members of St. Brendan Parish in Hancock Park.

Read More » View Speech on YouTube

Sam Navarro is an active alumnus of Cathedral High School and owner of Graphic Electric.  Personally, and on behalf of their clients, the Navarro family actively supports Santa Teresita School in Boyle Heights, Cal Poly, and Venice and Crenshaw High School students with training, labor and materials related to graphic arts.  Sam’s wife, Yvonne is especially involved in Santa Teresita School.  Sam and Yvonne belong to St. Andrew Parish in Pasadena.

Read More » View Speech on YouTube

Jim O’Connor this Vietnam veteran and storied calculus teacher at St. Francis High School has students who understand he means business….teaching is business, not a social experience.  The other side of this purported “tough guy” involves babies.  Three days a week, Jim volunteers at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles, rocking, feeding and loving infants in his warm arms.  Jim calls St. Francis his parish, Holy Redeemer and Our Lady or Lourdes.

Read More » View Speech on YouTube

The non-profits of Los Angeles salute this incredibly involved Catholic gentleman who gives his time and expertise to Catholic Charities, South Bay Legatus, Homeboy Industries, the Salvation Army, and his parish St. John Fisher in Palos Verdes.

Viktor’s wife Mary Beth is also involved in works of charity.

Read More » View Speech on YouTube

Emma Stewart, along with her internist husband, Jim, is a member of Saint Felicitas and Perpetua Parish in San Marino.  Emma works tirelessly for Christ Child Society, Legatus, Holy Sepulchre, and the Carmelite Sister of the Most Sacred Heart of Los Angeles – coincidentally, they have a daughter who is a Carmelite.

Read More » View Speech on YouTube

Gretchen Wayne puts family first. Secondly, she is President of Batjac Productions, restoring and distributing films produced by her late husband Michael.

Gretchen has been involved with Immaculate Heart High School and College, Social Service Auxiliary, Adoption Guild, Paulist Productions and the Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels. Gretchen attended St. Charles Borromeo Parish School and is a lifelong member of the parish.

Read More » View Speech on YouTube


2015 Honorees

2014 Honorees

2013 Honorees

2012 Honorees

2011 Honorees

2010 Honorees

2009 Honorees

Kathleen Hannon Aikenhead
Christopher Alders
Leo Lagasse, M.D.
Virginia Schneider
Vin Scully

2008 Honorees

H. Richard Closson
Antoinette Hodgkiss
Dorothy King
Gary Krauss
Reverend Robert B. Lawton, S.J.

2007 Honorees

Fe Israel Benito
Richard C. Dunn †
Anita Finie
Philip M. Hawley
Dr. Steven B. Sample

2006 Honorees

Deacon Hosea Alexander
Mary Pat Cooper
Fran Curry
Dr. Clyde V. Von der Ahe †
William M. Wardlaw

2005 Honorees

David Frelinger, M.D. †
June Gleason
Stanley Hayden †
Joan Payden
Reverend Monsignor John Sheridan †

2004 Honorees

Robert H. Ahmanson †
Kathleen Leavey McCarthy
Sister Cecilia Louise Moore, C. S. J. †
John O’Keefe
Edward Rose

2003 Honorees

William M. Close
Richard A. Grant, Jr.
Barbara Hudson
Mary Ann McEveety
Reynaldo Rojo
John F. Watkins

2002 Honorees

Vivian Burgess
Edward Illig
Thomas Laubacher, Sr. †
Sister Mary Jean Meier, R.S.M. †
Hilmar Rosenast

2001 Honorees

Joseph Campanella
Iva May Carrico
Brother Patrick Corr, O.H.
Robert F. Erburu †
Margaret Jagels

2000 Honorees

Deacon Frank Dieter †
Mary Dohn †
Stafford Grady †
Edith Piczek
Isabel Piczek †

1999 Honorees

Stan Chambers †
William H. Edwards †
Irene R. Elshoff
Norma L. Gonzales
William S. Mortensen

1998 Honorees

Albert J. Centofante †
Veronica H. Dysart
Marie C. Poyer †
Robert A. Smith, III
Lew R. Wasserman †

1997 Honorees

Sister Eileen Doherty, I.H.M. †
Sister Edna Doherty, I.H.M. †
Sister Michael Doherty, I.H.M. †
Helen M. Guho
William C. Rivera
Paul F. Salamunovich †
Most Reverend John J. Ward, D.D. †

1996 Honorees

Robert T. Campion †
Frances S. Morehart
Josephine Wayne Nigg †
John F. Shea
Roger M. Sullivan

1995 Honorees

Stephen D. Gavin †
Gloria N. Griffin
Ivan Houston
William T. Huston †
Gertrude M. Roberts †

1994 Honorees

William H. Hannon †
Justice Mildred L. Lillie †
Kenneth O. Olsen
Grace M. Rinaldi

1993 Honorees

Alphonse J. Antczak*
Charles F. Bannan*
Rev. Newman C. Eberhardt, C. M. †
Peggy J. Ferry †
Anne D. Kenney †

1992 Honorees

Dolores D. Hope †
Gerald J. Lynch †
Margaret E. Rendler †
Wilfred L. Von der Ahe †

1991 Honorees

Thomas P. Pike †
Robert A. Smith, Jr. †
Helen H. Walsh †

1990 Honorees

Sir Daniel J. Donohue †
Marian Hancock †
William R. Hayden †
Dorothy Leavey †
Cyril C. Nigg †

† Deceased